Archive for August2014

The Five Stages of Public Safety

Entry Img

  The five stages of mourning and grief are universal and are experienced by people from all walks of life. The five widely accepted stages are, in order: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. The mind processes grief very much the same way it processes the five stages of a career in Public Safety, only […]

Gratitude, not attitude

We complain a lot about the people who abuse “the system” and take advantage of the benefits that the society we have created offers. These benefits, such as the 911 system serve a purpose, and though the purpose has been distorted and abused, there are those who do need us, and appreciate what we offer, […]

In a blink

Entry Img

It was a heck of a run but I still ended up on the shelf! Enjoy every minute, it goes by in a blink.

The ten other commandments

Entry Img

10 Simple Steps to EMS Success 1. Learn An incompetent EMT is a useless EMT. Know the basics. Practice. Read. Get better. Every patient deserves competent care. Provide it. 2. Teach People watch. Everything we do is scrutinized. If they must watch, give them something of value to watch . You are setting an example […]

Page 2 of 212